Call for Entries: 2022 Palladio Awards

The Palladio Awards are the first and only national awards program for residential and commercial/institutional projects which demonstrate excellence in traditional design.
2019 Palladio Awards

The 2022 Palladio Awards are accepting applications now through December 17, 2021!


2022 Palladio Award Categories

  • Craftsmanship (architectural millwork, ornamental metal, decorative painting, etc.)
  • Interior Design
  • Commercial, Institutional & Public Projects
    • Restoration & Renovation
    • Adaptive Reuse and/or Sympathetic Addition
    • New Design & Construction – less than 30,000 sq.ft.
    • New Design & Construction – more than 30,000 sq.ft.
    • Public Spaces: Parks, Plazas, Gardens, Streetscapes
    • Impact (Special 20th Anniversary Category!)
  • Residential Projects
    • Restoration and Renovation
    • Adaptive Reuse and/or Sympathetic Addition
    • New Design & Construction – less than 5,000 sq.ft.
    • New Design & Construction – more than 5,000 sq.ft.
    • Exterior Spaces: Gardens & Landscapes
    • Residential Multi-Unit Projects
    • Impact (Special 20th Anniversary Category!)

It’s time to start preparing your Palladio entries for the 2022 competition. The deadline is December 17, 2021.

Produced by Active Interest Media, publisher of Traditional Building and Period Homes magazines and organizers of the Traditional Building Conference, this is the only national awards program that honors traditional design and construction.

The Palladio Awards program was launched in 2002 by Clem Labine, founder of Traditional Building, Period Homes and Old House Journal magazines. The awards are named in honor of Andrea Palladio, the Renaissance architect who created modern architecture for his time while using models from the past for inspiration and guidance.

Over the years, more than 100 awards have been given. Each winner receives a cast-bronze trophy that features a traditional anthemion motif. These are crafted by Historical Arts & Casting, Inc., using the lost-wax method.

Awards are given in a number of categories. Restoration & Renovation and Adaptive Reuse and/or Sympathetic Addition are honored in both the residential and commercial/institutional categories. Also in commercial is New Design & Construction, more than 30,000 sf and New Design & Construction, less than 30,000 sf. In residential, the comparable categories are New Design & Construction, more than 5,000 sf, and New Design & Construction, less than 5,000 sf.

A residential award is also given for Multi-Unit Design and for Exterior Spaces: Gardens & Landscapes. A commercial award is also given for Public Spaces and Craftsmanship.

A new category has been created this year called Impact. Impact projects must have been completed between November 1990 and November 2010. Those entering in this category should showcase how their project’s classical design has impacted the well-being of people/places/things—perhaps the project caused a revitalization in new classical-inspired construction.

See last year's Residential and Commercial winners.

For additional application and entry requirements, click here.

Deadline to Submit: December 17, 2021

Enter here.


Zepsa Industries, Inc.

Engineer, custom manufacturer & installer of Classical & contemporary architectural woodwork: railings, stairs, wine cellars, mantels, paneling, furniture & more; for estate-level residences, yacht interiors & select commercial commissions.