Skip to main content

The Chapter invited entries from firms not just from New England but from around the country for work performed in the region. Over 50 entries were submitted. The Jury consisted of Marc Appleton, Thomas Pheasant, and Greg Tankersley.

Bulfinch Award Winner, Dell Mitchell Architects, Brick House

"Brick House" - Dell Mitchell Architects 

Dell Mitchell Architects for “Brick House”

“Oakledge” - Carpenter & Macneille, Bulfinch Award winner

“Oakledge” - Carpenter & Macneille

Carpenter & MacNeille for “Oakledge”

“Norton St Home” from Campbell Smith Architects, Bulfinch Award Winner

“Norton Street Home” - Campbell Smith Architects 

Campbell/Smith Architects for “Norton Street Home”

“Benjamin Franklin College and Pauli Murray College, Yale University”, Robert A.M. Stern Architects, Bulfinch Award

“Benjamin Franklin College and Pauli Murray College, Yale University” - Robert A.M. Stern Architects

Robert A.M. Stern Architects for “Benjamin Franklin College and Pauli Murray College, Yale University”

“John L. Gardner Estate” from LeBlanc Jones

“John L. Gardner Estate” - LeBlanc Jones 

LeBlanc Jones Landscape Architects, Inc. for “John L. Gardner Estate”

Nantucket Boys' Bunk Room, Bulfinch Awards, Carpenter & Macneille

"Nantucket Bunk Room" - Carpenter & MacNeille

Carpenter & MacNeille Woodworking for “Nantucket Bunk Room”

“Alterations to a House by the Sea”, Bulfinch Award winner, G.P. Schafer

“Alterations to a House by the Sea” - G.P. Schafer Architect

G. P. Schafer Architect (Gil Schafer III) “Alterations to a House by the Sea”

Ronald Lee Fleming

Ronald Lee Fleming


Ronald Lee Fleming

The Bulfinch Awards are hosted by the Institute of Classical Architecture & Art New England Chapter (ICAA New England) and recognize practitioners from across the nation who are committed to promoting excellence in the classical tradition and allied arts within New England. All eligible projects work toward building upon the legacy of Boston's early Federal architect, Charles Bulfinch, who is widely regarded to be the first native-born American to work in the field professionally. Initiated in 2010 and modeled on the ICAA’s Arthur Ross Awards, the New England Bulfinch Awards program is an annual competition. The winners of the Bulfinch Awards will be recognized at a ceremonial reception and dinner gala in the Harvard Hall at the Harvard Club of Boston, designed by Parker, Thomas & Rice on Saturday, April 28, 2018 at 6 PM.

About The Institute of Classical Architecture & Art

The Institute of Classical Architecture & Art is the leading nonprofit organization dedicated to advancing the classical tradition in architecture, urbanism and their allied arts. It does so through education, publication, and advocacy. The Institute is headquartered in New York City with regional chapters across the United States. It offers a wide array of programs that are designed to promote the appreciation and practice of classical and traditional design, including classes, travel, lectures, and conferences. It publishes an academic journal called the Classicist as well as the acclaimed book series called the Classical America Series in Art and Architecture.

SpacePak Install 2


Company provides 2' flexible tubing ductwork allowing warm and cool air to reach spaces in historic buildings without disturbing architectural finishes and structure.