Skip to main content

The 2017 Palladio Award Winners

Eleven firms have been cited for excellence in traditional design

We are happy to announce the winners of the 2017 Palladio Design Awards. This is our 16th year of producing the Palladio Awards, and, as usual, the quality of projects was extraordinary. If you are not among the winners, there is consolation in knowing you were among the best of the best in traditional design. We keep all the submissions for potential stories in Period Homes, New Old House, and Traditional Building.

The Palladio Awards Program is produced by Traditional Building and Period Homes, with awards presented annually at the Traditional Building Conference. The Palladio Awards jurors met on March 8th, 2017, and after six hours of deliberation, selected the following projects.

The commercial/institutional 2017 Palladio Award winners are:

Restoration and Renovation – a tie, two winners
Veteran's Room at the Park Avenue Armory
PBDW Architects with Herzog + de Meuron

Restoration of the Historic Watchbox
EYP Architects & Engineers

Adaptive Reuse/Sympathetic Addition
The Knickerbocker Telephone Company Building
Scott Henson Architect + Stephen B. Jacobs Group

New Design and Construction, more than 30,000 sq.ft.
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
OLSON LEWIS + Architects

New Design and Construction, less than 30,000 sq.ft.
Mary's Chapel
O'Brien & Keane

The residential 2017 Palladio Award winners are:

Adaptive Reuse / Sympathetic Addition
Barn Addition to a 19th Century Farm
John B. Murray Architect

New Design & Construction, less than 5,000 sq.ft.
Cahaba River House
Nequette Architecture Design

Restoration & Renovation
Alterations & Additions to a Historic Residence
Ferguson & Shamamian

New Design & Construction, more than 5,000 sq.ft.
Lost Tree Village
Fairfax & Sammons

Exterior Space
A Colonial Revival Property
Land Plus Associates

Residential & Multi-unit Projecting
The Beekman: A Thompson Hotel
Gerner Kronick & Valcarcel Architects

2017 Palladio Awards Commercial Jurors

The jurors for the 2017 commercial/institutional category were: (left to right in photo): Sean Patrick Nohelty, AIA, Principal, David M. Schwarz Architects, Inc., Washington, DC; Mary Oehrlein, Historic Preservation Officer, Architect of the Capitol; Ashley R. Wilson, AIA, National Trust for Historic Preservation, Washington, DC; and Bruce D. Judd, FAIA, Senior Preservation Architect, Quinn Evans Architects, Washington, DC.

2017 Palladio Awards Residential Jurors

The 2017 residential jurors were: (left to right, back row) Gordon Bock, Traditional Building magazine; Robert Baird, Historical Arts and Casting; Christian Zapatka, Christian Zapatka Architecture; Dale Overmyer, Dale Overmyer Architects; (seated) Katherine Flanigan, Allan Greenberg Architects; and Val Hawkins, Franck Lohsen Architects.

Traditional Building will publish the commercial/institutional winning projects in the June 2017 issue. Period Homes will feature residential award winners in the July 2017 issue. The Palladio story will also appear on our websites: and

The 2017 Palladio Awards ceremony takes place July 18 at 7 p.m. during the Traditional Building Conference in Salem, MA.

SpacePak Install 2


Company provides 2' flexible tubing ductwork allowing warm and cool air to reach spaces in historic buildings without disturbing architectural finishes and structure.